As with every other state in America, the drinking age in Georgia is 21 years of age, which means that there are many young people who are able to drive a vehicle, but not allowed to drink. As with many different areas of the country, there are many people who do drink before they are of the legal age to do so. When a person is under the age of 21 and drinks, there are serious consequences, especially when that individual gets behind the wheel of a vehicle.
In Georgia, there are strict regulations against underage drinking, which is not permitted except in the following limited circumstances:
- An individual may drink on private property, which is not licensed to sell alcohol, with the express consent of a parent or legal guardian;
- An individual may drink alcohol if it is for a religious purpose; or
- An individual is drinking for medical reasons, which must be done under the supervision of authorized medical personnel.
When someone who is under the age of 21 drinks alcohol and gets into an accident, the penalties are harsh because these individuals cause a larger percentage of accidents than other age groups. For this reason, there is a lower blood alcohol content (BAC) that will lead to a citation for driving under the influence. In this case, it is .02 percent, while the BAC that triggers a DUI arrest for those over the age of 21 years is .08 percent. The penalties that a person who is under the age of 21 faces are as follows:
- A person who has a BAC of greater than .02 percent and less than .08 percent, he may be penalized with the suspension of his driver’s license for up to six months and a sentence of community service;
- A person who has a BAC of .08 percent or higher may face jail time of up to 24 hours, a suspension of a driver’s license for up to one year, and community service, in addition to community service and a fine;
- A person under the age of 21 year who is arrested for driving under the influence for the second time faces a term of imprisonment of three days (this is only if there are no injuries from the DUI), as well as a fine of up to $1,000. In addition, this person may lose his license for up to three years and face a community service sentence;
- Any further convictions will result in more serious charges.
A person who is under the age of 21 years and driving under the influence also may face serious penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test at the time of the DUI stop. In Georgia, it is necessary to submit to the chemical testing at the time of a suspected DUI arrest or there are serious penalties that impact the individual being charged with DUI immediately.
The Abt Law Firm, LLC. Aggressively Advocates on Behalf of its Clients
A driving under the influence (DUI) arrest always carries with it serious consequences, but when the driver is under the age of 21 years, it is especially important to fight the charges in order to protect the future opportunities of the driver. The Atlanta DUI Defense Firm of the Abt Law Firm, LLC. knows how a criminal record can harm a young person with an unlimited future in front of him. We will work with you to do everything possible to prevent someone who made a foolish mistake from facing a lifetime of consequences. If you do not want a criminal record, call us immediately at 1 (800) NO JAIL 9 or 1 (800) 665-2459 and we can help. We offer free consultations at our office, over the telephone, and are ready to come to you in jail.